Return again

 

blog

Photo by Craig Schlewitz on Flickr

 

I sat down to write a blog today (January 26, 2016) and realized that I don’t have much to write about. I do enjoy reading and writing a lot, so this saddens me. It is somewhat of a wake up call for me though. I do not have a lot to offer because of how little I have been feeding myself. Although I am thrilled to be (finally) out of college, the transition from the community I had there has been hard. I benefited greatly from being surrounded by my family in Christ and from living in a house where ministry events were almost always happening. I also benefitted from serving and teaching, as it forced me to be in the Word. It is almost as if I had training wheels on the whole time preparing me for when I would no longer have that constant community.

Now it’s a little different, for several reasons. And it’s harder to consistently be in God’s Word, for those same reasons. But it is also good for my relationship with God, because although community is important and necessary, I also have to pour into my own salvation and sanctification.

Paul writes, in his letter to the Philippians, “Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.”2:12-13

Working out my salvation does mean to work for it, it is a free gift of grace. But evidence of not mere acknowledgement, but the working of this grace in my life must be present.

There is a quote from Anton Chekhov that I’ve always liked, it says “any idiot can face a crisis-it’s day to day living that wears you out.” In a lot of ways, that’s how I feel about my walk with Christ. He calls us to daily obedience and that is where I fail the most. I mean, think about it, as a Christian your biggest struggle may not be taking a person’s life or adultery, which for the sake of this example could be considered crises. Instead, it could more commonly be spending time in God’s word or passivity to the things God has called us for, that are our main weaknesses. Hence, not the crisis but the day to day living.

I wish I was articulate enough to express these thoughts better, but just know that all hope is not lost. God is still good and is Word is still living, active and transformative. It’s never too late to return again to the feet of God and receive His never ending Grace.

Leave a Reply

